Are You a Civic Minded Person?

Do you like to be involved in the community?

Optimist Club


 Visit us at mtoptimist.org.

Our Optimist Club is a group of concerned men and women of Mequon-Thiensville, representing a cross section of the community, who recognize their civic responsibilities and join together in thought and action for the good of the community, specifically, our Youth.

Individual Optimist Clubs existed as early as 1911.
In June 1919, representatives of 11 Optimist Clubs met in Louisville, Kentucky, to discuss mutual objectives and activities which was the beginning of Optimist International.

Today, Optimist International is a Federation of more than 3,500 clubs with well over 125,000 members.

The Mequon-Thiensville Optimist Club was founded in July 1976, with 36 members. Regular weekly meetings have been held at various times and locations throughout the area.

Today, the Optimist membership is currently 32 members. The Club is governed by a 9 member Board of Directors, with 6 Chairpersons appointed to head various functions within the Club.

M-T OptimistBoard of Directors for the 2017 -2018

President Tom Volke

First V-P – Vacant

Secretary Kay Freyer

Treasurer Tom Frank

Financial CFO Mari Schmidt

Director Mike Farina

Director Jim Heyer

Director Mike Mueller

Director Patti Harkensee

Director Terry Stuhlmacher

Past President Mike Franks

Optigram Editor Kay Freyer

Zone 1 Lt. Gov. Rose Schwartz

NOTE: The treasurer is  appointed by the President.

Fund Raising Event Chairs/Reports:
1 Raffle Dinner Paul Oehler
3 Raffle Tickets
4 Raffle Auction Chris Oehler
5 Christmas Tree Sales Bill Nimke, Ernie Millard,  Tom Frank
6 Christmas Wreaths Tom Frank
7 Police & Fireman Service Awards Banquet (every 5 years) next one 2016
8 Optimist Annual Induction/Awards Dinner ?
9 All member assist for ALL EVENTS

Other Chairs/Reports:
1 Financial CFO – Mari Schmidt
2 Youth of the month –
3 AFS – Peter Uihlien
4 Speaker Coordinator – Monty Hunt
5 Essay Contest – Patti Harkensee
6 Optigram – Kay Freyer
7 Scholarship – Bob Schmidt (March or April each year)